The Institute for Experimental Molecular Imaging (ExMI) at the University Hospital Aachen and the Helmholtz Institute for Biomedical Engineering at RWTH Aachen University is headed by Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. Fabian Kiessling. ExMI focuses on the development of novel contrast agents, imaging techniques and therapeutic approaches to characterize and treat cancer, cardiovascular and inflammatory disorders.

ExMI currently consists of two departments and five research groups:


  • Teresa Nolte, Nikhil Vaidya, Melanie Krueger, Alex Kolen, Aaldert Elevelt, Valentina Lavezzo, Marco Baragona, Edmond van Dijk, Volkmar Schulz, and Ralph Maessen won Poster Award at the MOBI 2018 (the annual meeting of the German Young Molecular Imaging Group of the ESMI) for the contribution “Investigation of perfusion effects on radiofrequency ablation treatments: A machine perfused pig liver experiment with 3D color Doppler ultrasound.”
  • Prof. Kiessling has been appointed as Head of the Molecular Imaging section of the Scientific Editorial Board of European Radiology.
  • Larissa Yokata Rizzo has won the Friedrich-Wilhelm Award of the Friedrich-Wilhelm Foundation for her excellent dissertation.
  • Federica De Lorenzi, Maike Baues and Stefanie Rosenhain have won the Women in Molecular Imaging Network (WIMIN) Awards in the World Molecular Imaging Congress (WMIC) held in Seattle.
  • Federica De Lorenzi, Maike Baues, Stefanie Rosenhain and Benjamin Theek won Travel Stipends for the World Molecular Imaging Congress (WMIC) to be held in Seattle.
  • On June 5th, the Uniklinik Aachen founded the Comprehensive Diagnostic Center Aachen (CDCA), which aims to develop, test and establish in collaboration between institutes and clinics of Uniklinik RWTH Aachen and other faculties of RWTH Aachen University tools to automatically evaluate and merge the very different diagnostic data and to employ them efficiently for the benefit of the patient. More information can be found at Comprehensive Diagnostic Center Aachen.